Scroll Top

Democrats Continue To Lead New Jersey Senate

TRENTON – Democrats will continue to lead the New Jersey Senate as Senate President Richard J. Codey was sworn in for a 2-year term at the start of the 212th Session of the New Jersey Legislature.

Codey, who will step down as Governor next week when Democrat Jon Corzine is sworn on Tuesday, January 17th, later delivered a State of the State message to a joint session of the Legislature.

Senator Shirley K. Turner was sworn in as Senate President Pro Tempore, a constitutional position which requires her to step in to preside at the podium as Senate President during sessions when Codey is temporarily absent.

In addition, Ellen Davenport of Maplewood was sworn in for her second term as Secretary of the Senate.

Senate Majority Bernard F. Kenny Jr., D-Hudson, will continue in his titled position as the political leader of the Majority Democrats. Meanwhile, Senator Leonard Lance, R-Hunterdon and Warren, will continue as Senate Minority Leader. The political balance in the upper house favors Democrats by a 22-18 margin.

Leave a comment