Scroll Top

Senate Democrats Announce 2012-13 Leadership Team

A view of the Senate Chambers from the 2010-2011 Senate Reorganization.

TRENTON – The Senate Democrats today announced their leadership team for the 2012-13 legislative session. Steve Sweeney (D-Gloucester, Cumberland, Salem) will serve as Senate President. This will be his second term in that position.

“I am humbled that my colleagues have seen fit to honor me with another term as Senate President,” said Sweeney. “I can promise the people of New Jersey that our commitment to creating jobs, revitalizing the economy and fighting for working class people will not end. I look forward to accomplishing great things in this upcoming session.”

Senator Loretta Weinberg (D-Bergen) will serve as Majority Leader. This will be her first term in that position.

“I am thrilled to serve in this capacity and would like to thank my fellow senators for placing their faith and trust in me,” said Weinberg. “While we must work in a bipartisan manner to get things done for New Jersey, my colleagues and I will not yield an inch in our fight for the hard working families who have had their taxes go up under this governor, or the women who have had their health services decimated, or the folks who can’t find work. I look forward to working closely with my fellow senators and achieving what is in the best interests of the people of New Jersey.”

Senator Paul Sarlo (D-Bergen, Essex, Passaic) will serve as Deputy Majority Leader and chair of the Budget and Appropriations Committee. Senator Nia Gill (D-Essex, Passaic) will serve as President Pro Temp. Both will be serving their second terms in those positions.

“Senator Sarlo has shown outstanding leadership as budget chair and Senator Gill has been a constant and consistent advocate of Democratic principles. I am grateful for their service and commitment,” said Sweeney.