Scroll Top

Senate Democrats Reelect Sweeney, Weinberg & Ruiz to Top Leadership Posts

TRENTON – Senate President Steve Sweeney, Senate Majority Leader Loretta Weinberg and Senate President Pro Tempore M. Teresa Ruiz were unanimously reelected today by the members of the Senate Democratic Majority to continue to serve in the top leadership positions for the new 219th Legislature, the two-year session which starts in January 2020.

Senator Sweeney, first elected Senate President in 2010, has been reelected by his Senate colleagues to the post a record five times.

“I am grateful for the unified support of my Democratic colleagues and proud to have the opportunity to continue to work with a distinguished team of leaders and an extraordinary group of senators,” said Senator Sweeney (D-Gloucester/Salem/Cumberland). “We face real challenges ahead, but we also have the opportunity to address the priorities and needs of the people in meaningful ways. We have a strong caucus that is united in its determination to move the state forward with financially responsible policies that make New Jersey more affordable.”

“I want to thank my colleagues for their confidence and for the opportunity to serve the caucus as Majority Leader for another term,” said Senator Weinberg (D-Bergen). “Senate Democrats are committed to addressing the pressing issues that face our state’s residents and to improving the lives of children, working families and the most vulnerable in New Jersey. The members of our caucus represent a diverse cross section of our state. They are hard-working and steadfast in their commitment to fight for the policies that our residents deserve.”

“It is an honor to be chosen by my colleagues to serve again as the Senate President Pro Tempore,” said Senator Ruiz (D-Essex). “I am proud to be a part of our leadership team and our caucus, which is committed to addressing the challenges facing families across the state and improving the quality of life for all residents.”