Scroll Top

Codey And Sweeney Elected To Lead Senate

Senator  Codey talks about the Governor's proposal

TRENTON – Members of the Senate Democratic Majority today unanimously re-elected Senate President Richard J. Codey to lead the Senate when the new legislative session begins in January.

The incoming Senate Democratic Caucus with a 23-17 majority also unanimously chose Senator Stephen M. Sweeney, D-Gloucester, Salem and Cumberland, as Majority Leader.

“I am honored by this show of support for my leadership and I look forward to finding solutions to our number one challenge – getting our fiscal house in order,” said Senate President Codey.

Senator Sweeney said he emerged with unanimous support from the caucus after a spirited contest for the Majority Leader’s post with Senator Paul A. Sarlo, D-Bergen, Essex and Passaic.

“This is a tremendous honor and responsibility and I look forward to working together closely with Senate President Codey to help solve the State’s fiscal problems,” Senator Sweeney said. “Paul Sarlo is friend and we will continue to work together.”

In turn, Senator Sarlo congratulated Senator Sweeney for his election as Majority Leader.

“I congratulate Steve and wish him the best as Majority Leader,” Senator Sarlo said.

Senator Sweeney said he would complete his final year as a freeholder in Gloucester County where he currently serves as Freeholder Director, but then would not seek re-election to the county post.

For Senator Codey, he will begin his third full term as Senate President in January. He was first elected to the Senate in 1981 after serving eight years in the Assembly. With the start of the new legislative session, he will be the longest serving member of the Legislature.

Senator Sweeney will begin his third Senate term in January. He is the financial secretary and treasurer for Ironworkers Local 399 in Westville.

The position of Senate Majority Leader currently is held by Senator Bernard F. Kenny Jr., D-Hudson, who is not seeking re-election.

Leave a comment