Scroll Top

Codey Announces New Dem Leadership Posts

Sweeney, Turner to Head Up Majority Caucus

TRENTON – Senate President Richard J. Codey (D-Essex) today announced the new leadership posts for the Senate Democratic Majority Caucus that will take effect when the 213th Legislature is sworn in on January 8. Senator Stephen M. Sweeney will serve as both Democratic Majority Leader and Conference Chair, while Senator Shirley K. Turner will continue to lead as Senate President Pro-Tempore.

“We’ve put together a great team to lead our caucus in the new legislative session,” said the Senate President. “These members, both veterans and new go-getters, wield a great combination of experience, energy and passion. Together they bring more than 90 years of legislative experience to the table and a deep commitment to improving the lives of the residents of New Jersey.”

Sen. Codey also announced that Senator Joseph F. Vitale and Senator Paul A. Sarlo will both serve as Deputy Majority Leaders, while Senators Ronald L. Rice and John A. Girgenti will serve as Assistant Majority Leaders. Rounding out the posts, newly elected Senator Sandra B. Cunningham will serve as Majority Whip.

“Each of our leaders is well aware that we have our work cut out for us and they are ready and eager to tackle the challenges that lie ahead. Whether its reshaping our finances or continuing with ethics reforms, I have every confidence in their ability to deal with the tasks at hand,” added Sen. Codey.

# # #