Scroll Top

Senator Sacco Reappointed To Chair Senate Transportation Committee

TRENTON – Senate President Richard J. Codey has tapped Senator Nicholas Sacco to again Chair the Senate Transportation Committee.

“Senator Sacco has done a great job presiding over our transportation issues and I have every confidence in his ability to continue helming this important committee as we look ahead to some crucial decisions. Our transportation infrastructure is the lifeline of our economy. If anyone understands this importance, it’s a Hudson County official,” said Senate President Codey (D-Essex).

“I look forward to continuing to work with Senator Codey and my colleagues on both sides of the aisle to develop legislation to help improve the State’s transportation issues,” said Senator Sacco, D-Bergen and Hudson. “With Governor Corzine’s recent announcement about toll increases, I’m sure members of the public will have a number of questions and concerns. It will be the Committee’s job to look at funding alternatives, and develop ideas to help ease the strain on the pockets of New Jersey’s drivers.”

Senator Fred H. Madden will also serve his second term as Vice Chair of the Senate Transportation panel. Joining Senators Sacco and Madden on the Committee for the 2008-2009 term will be Senator Jeff Van Drew. ###

Leave a comment