TRENTON – Legislation sponsored by Senator Shirley K. Turner that requires new residents to register their vehicles with the Motor Vehicles Commission (MVC) within 60 days of becoming a New Jersey resident was signed into law today by Governor Jon S. Corzine.
“Many new residents think that it’s no big deal to keep their old, out-of-state license plates on their car long after they’ve moved to New Jersey,” said Senator Turner, D-Mercer. “But the truth is that by requiring New Jersey residents to register their vehicles in state, we are helping the police to keep the streets safe by providing an invaluable tool in tracking down vehicles involved in hit and run accidents.”
The new law, formerly bill S-2087, will set the penalty for failure to register a vehicle within 60 days of becoming a resident of New Jersey of a fine of not more than $250 for a first offense and not more than $500 for a second or subsequent offense.
Senator Turner added, “It has become clear that the fines are too small and too rare to create any pressure to register out-of-state vehicles in New Jersey. It’s simply not fair to long-time New Jersey residents to have this double standard.”
The law also requires that the vehicle would be impounded for no less than 96 hours on the third or subsequent violation and released to the owner only upon proof of registration and that all fines have been satisfied. The fines and registration must be paid within 30 days of the vehicle being impounded or the vehicle will be sold at auction.