Scroll Top

Van Drew Bill Boosting Economic Development Potential at Cape May County Airport Advances

Senator Jedd Van Drew speaks to reporters about the need to allow sports betting in New Jersey

Bill Extends State Tax Incentive Program to Businesses at Cape May County Airport

TRENTON – Legislation sponsored by Senator Jeff Van Drew to boost the economic development potential of the Cape May County Airport was approved today by the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee.

The bill (S-3169) extends the state’s Grow New Jersey Assistance Program to businesses located at the Cape May County Airport. The bill would allow eligible businesses located at the Cape May County Airport to receive a base tax credit of $5,000 a year for each job created or retained by the business.

The legislation developed from hearings Senator Van Drew convened as chair of the First Legislative District Economic Development Task Force.

“We have incredible opportunity to attract aviation and high-tech businesses to this region, which will create good-paying jobs for local residents. We already have important assets in place, including a drone test site at the Cape May County Airport, and research and development taking place in the region,” said Senator Van Drew. “Making businesses the airport eligible for Grow New Jersey benefits will allow us to leverage the state’s successful tax incentive program to draw additional businesses to the area and to strengthen the economy.”

The Cape May County Airport owns an industrial park that has attracted new tenants, including a commercial and video production company and a technical start-up incubator for drone technology companies owned by the Cape May County. By allowing businesses located in the Airport to apply for Grow NJ tax credits, the bill would foster economic growth in the county and help foster regional synergies on drone technologies with Federal Aviation Administration’s William J. Hughes Technical Center in Egg Harbor Township.

The bill was approved by a vote of 13-0. It next heads to the Senate for a vote.