Scroll Top

Weinberg/Coniglio Measure To Create County Offices Of Disability Services Clears Senate Health Panel

TRENTON – A measure sponsored by Senators Loretta Weinberg and Joseph Coniglio which would permit any county in the State to establish an office of disability services was unanimously approved today by the Senate Health, Human Services and Senior Citizens Committee.

“According to the State Office of Legislative Services, New Jersey is home to nearly 1.4 million disabled residents,” said Senator Weinberg D-Bergen. “Offices of Disability Services already exist in 18 of the State’s 21 counties, but this bill would provide a definite funding source to allow the existing programs to continue to operate, while establishing new offices to provide services in the three remaining counties.”

“I am glad to have worked on legislation for a program that has been proven to be successful in 18 other counties,” said Senator Coniglio, D-Bergen. “The passage of this bill proves that programs like these work. New Jerseyans in every county should have access to services designed to cater to their needs.”

The Senators’ measure, S-1522, would allow for the creation of county offices of disability services. Each office would be responsible for maintaining information on existing programs and services, while working to expand services to more adequately meet the needs of disabled residents.

The bill would provide an annual appropriation of $425,000 to be distributed throughout the State for annual expenses.

This bill now heads to the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee.

Leave a comment