Scroll Top

Legislative Leaders Announce Members Of Tax Reform Panels

TRENTON – Senate President Richard J. Codey and Assembly Speaker Joseph J. Roberts Jr. today announced the members of the four bicameral, bipartisan joint committees that will review and formulate proposals to address property tax reform during an unprecedented special session of the Legislature.

“Our goal is to achieve meaningful property tax relief and reform by having these committees fully air the tough choices that need to be made to keep New Jersey livable,” said Senator Codey, D-Essex. “These joint panels will be asked to consult with our standing reference committees so that all of our members are engaged in the process, both formally and informally.”

“The members of these joint committees have a shared mission of turning property tax reform concepts into reality,” said Speaker Roberts (D-Camden), who noted that the eight Assembly Democrats are from seven different counties. “In consultation with working groups from the Assembly Democratic caucus, the joint committee members can ensure that the special session achieves tangible results and does not fall prey to being just another academic or rhetorical exercise on property taxes.”

Senate President Codey and Speaker Roberts said the committees, their co-chairs, and the members are:

Joint Committee on Public School Funding Reform: Senator John H. Adler, D-Camden, and Assemblyman Herbert C. Conaway, M.D. (D-Burlington),Co-Chairs; Senators Joseph V. Doria Jr., D-Hudson, and Gerald Cardinale, R-Bergen; Assemblymen Brian Stack (D-Hudson) and David W. Wolfe (R-Ocean).

Joint Committee on Government Consolidation and Shared Services: Senator Bob Smith, D-Middlesex and Somerset, and Assemblyman John Wisniewski (D-Middlesex), Co-Chairs; Senators Ellen Karcher, D-Monmouth and Mercer, and Joseph M. Kyrillos Jr., R-Monmouth; Assemblymen Robert Gordon (D-Bergen) and Joseph Malone (R-Burlington).

Joint Committee on Public Employee Benefits Reform: Senator Nicholas P. Scutari, D-Union, Middlesex and Somerset, and Assemblywoman Nellie Pou (D-Passaic), Co-Chairs; Senators Ronald L. Rice, D-Essex, and William L. Gormley, R-Atlantic; Assemblymen Thomas Giblin (D-Essex) and Kevin O’Toole (R-Essex).

Joint Committee on Constitutional Reform and Citizens Property Tax Convention: Senate Majority Leader Bernard F. Kenny Jr., D-Hudson, and Assemblyman John Burzichelli (D-Gloucester), Co-Chairs; Senators Fred H. Madden Jr., D-Gloucester and Camden, and Senate Minority Leader Leonard Lance, R-Hunterdon and Warren; Assemblymen Louis Manzo (D-Hudson) and Richard A. Merkt (R-Morris).

The joint committee appointments are made by the Senate President and Assembly Speaker in consultation with the minority leaders in the respective houses.

The two legislative leaders said the committees have agreed to hold their opening sessions on the following dates: Public School Funding Reform, Thursday, Aug. 10th at 10 a.m.; Government Consolidation and Shared Services, Tuesday, Aug. 8th at 10 a.m.; Public Employees Benefits Reform, Wednesday, Aug. 9th at 10 a.m., and Citizens Convention and Constitutional Reform, Friday, Aug. 4th at noon.

Related Posts

Leave a comment